Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Promaster and I want to add a house battery that will power the lights etc. that I will add. I want to be able to charge this battery from the vehicle alternator. Is there a wire that runs to the rear of the PM that provides power to charge the battery in a towed trailer that I can splice into for this purpose?

·
Super Moderator
10,679 Posts
To get a decent charging rate I think you will want to use a heavy cable for the POS side at least. A lot if people use a 2/0 or 4/0. Plus you want to keep it short, not long and add an isolator to prevent discharging the starter battery. There are some very good, informative write ups here if you do a search.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Keeponvaning. I did look at a bunch of posts and concluded that I will use from 4 gauge to 10 gauge (I read from someone herein that the wire size I need is 10 gauge wire running from my vehicle battery to my house battery, seems a little small?) The run will probably be 10 feet. I think I will use a Voltage Sensing Relay to isolate the batteries and a fuze at each battery. Can anyone provide me suggestions for my plan? I like the idea of a Voltage Sensing Relay instead of a solenoid because then I don't need to use an ignition switched source.

·
Premium Member
8,838 Posts
Minimum of 4AGW but 2/0 would be even better as KOV says. It needs to carry up to 170 amps as reported by one poster. Mine is fuzed at 80 amps and 4AGW. The fuze has never blown but then I have never had a really flat set of house batteries! Solar charges my batteries unless it refuses to shine.

·
Registered
2014-159 HR in CT
3,709 Posts
I would recommend a Wirthco Battery Doctor as your isolator. Works great in my PM.