Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,809 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The various ways to charge our coach batteries has come up in many threads across the forum, often out of place or as a response to someones’ post on their build thread. This is a good topic to have a thread for everyone to share their thoughts and the results of their work. My disclaimer here is that I have no experience in systems that manage the charging of coach batteries other than from the starter battery circuit or from a shore power plug in as in a campground or at your home.
Here is how I see the choices. If one has any of the various lead acid batteries they need to be maintained above about a minimum of 50% charge and less discharge is better, in fact if maintained at higher levels less sulfation occurs and battery life is extended. (http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article/sulfation_and_how_to_prevent_it) Long periods of slow charging at a higher level called Float will revers and prevent this condition. Sulfation is probably the single most common factor in a Pb-acid life. Other failures do occur due to low electrolyte and physical failure of course. (http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article/sulfation_and_how_to_prevent_it)
On this forum there have been lots of posts on rapid charging. Most battery makers suggest limiting the charge rate to 1/5 of the battery’s capacity. Solar does this perfectly and all modern solar controller have settings to properly charge the battery and idle days gets it to float and works wonderfully.
Lithium batteries are a different breed and are not being considered here. They will rule in high discharge and high recharge situations like electric vehicles. Does that make them ideal for our coach battery- no as we don’t normally have that need. (Flame me if you want.)