Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
538 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was a nuc plant technician in the Navy. Made me a huge believer in preventive maintenance.

Not starting a oil thread here, but clean fluids that meet the spec are one of the most important things to keep a vehicle healthy. That is my experience.

Plan to drive to Florida soon to visit family. The PM will be due for oil change in just 1k miles. Rather than do it late, when I get home. I just went ahead and did it today. This weekend we're due to have an arctic blast dropping us into the 20s at night. That is real cold for this area. Today it was 70 out and cloudy. Perfect weather to do a driveway oil change on a tall van! Now my "buddy" is good to go for a long trip. I feel better and I imagine the van does too. ;)

I will say that the PM gasser has one of the easiest oil changes I have ever performed. I park it partway up a set of ramps. Drop the old oil and let it drain for an hour so it ALL gets out. Wipe the drain clean and reinstall the plug. I move the drain pan out from under and pick up my 13mm wrench. Then I climb into the van and put it in neutral and release the brake so it can roll back off the ramps. I'm only 5' 6" tall so I need it on the ground to reach in to refill it and change the filter. A short handled 24mm wrench is perfect to get the filter cap off. Pop the old filter off, Press a new one home and change the O ring. A dab of the old oil or silicone grease goes on the new O ring. Don't want to snag it as it goes in. Hand tighten the cap and use the stubby wrench to seat it and lightly torque it. Add 6 quarts of Valvoline 5w 20 synthetic and its good to go. I also tend to wipe things up well afterwards. Like a camp site, leave it cleaner than you found it. Old habits die hard.

I don't care for the van's use of lug bolts instead of lug nuts. They make a heavy job more difficult for me. Otherwise this van is a piece of cake to do regular maintenance on!