Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I'm a much better woodworker than electrician hence my question. The PM has an 180A alternator. I see in searching that some people use 70A battery isolators. Well - shouldn't the isolator have a peak rating of at least the 180A of the alternator?

Lastly, I saw the battery doctor being used a bit. Is this the isolator that you would recommend for adding an AGM house battery in the 100Ah range?

·
Registered
2014-159 HR in CT
3,689 Posts
Watercamper,

Welcome!

I have used the 150A Battery Doctor isolator, as have others with great success.

Even though the alternator delivers up to 180A, it doesn't send that much current (amps) to the aux battery(s). On my install, I have an 80A circuit breaker between the isolator and my (2) 100Ah AGM batteries. It has never popped. While driving, a top-off charge is usually low current. When your aux batteries are almost completely discharged (not a good thing to do), they would draw the most current from the alternator, but in my case, it has never exceeded the 80A breaker.

I would recommend a similar install, with your battery(s) as close to the van battery as possible. My Battery Doctor is mounted on a board attached to the driver seat base.

Ed

·
Premium Member
8,837 Posts