Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
2019 2500 HT
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a few questions about my electrical system plans, but I wanted to get some quick feedback about charging off the alternator before I ask for feedback on the rest of it.

I’m new to thinking about electricity, but I’m learning, and I’m very much a hands-on person. I’m getting a lot of help from my brother, who’s plenty comfortable with electrical/electronics and mechanical stuff, but he’s never put together a van system. So, since I’ve been looking at the BattleBorn website, I thought I would take them up on their offer to answer questions.

And among other things, what I heard was “You really don’t want to get into alternator charging. It will take your system out of the DIY realm and require a mechanic if anything goes wrong.”

I’m pretty obsessive about reading this forum, so I’ve seen some of the good the bad and the ugly…what do you all think? Should I really think twice about going this route? Or was I getting the “don’t worry your pretty head about that” treatment? (which I should add is NOT an effective tactic with me 🤬)

Thanks!
Caroline

·
Registered
2019 2500 HT
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh, a quick background…The van is a 2019 2500 159” HR with 180 amp alternator. It will be my full-time home, but my needs are modest – no TV, small upright fridge, Maxxfan, smallest Propex heater, LED lighting, charging phone/tablet/laptop, and a couple of occasional AC loads. Per Far Out Ride’s worksheet (thanks Gary!) my daily amp-hr requirements come out to ~82 DC and ~15 AC.

In the long run I want solar, shore power/inverter, and alternator charging, but we’ll work on the solar a little later. I will be boondocking and traveling, and occasionally have access to shore power. I'll be using lithium batteries, probably 2 x 100 Ah to start.

·
Premium Member
2014, 138WB, High Roof, Gas, SW MT
2,196 Posts
Hi,
Just a couple thoughts...