Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I've been reading posts via the search function and I still can't understand why its frowned upon to charge your house batteries via the Alternator.

Most newer PM's come with the 220A alternator and AGM battery from factory. If its designed to use and charge AGM batteries, then why would we need anything more than a fuse and cut off in-between the starting and house batteries?

220A seems like overkill for 1 95AH battery? I'm new to all this so forgive me if this seems like a stupid question.

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
No stupid questions here. First, it is NOT frowned upon to charge house batteries with the alternator (via the starter battery). Most all commercial RVs do it, and nearly all of us here do, too !! Many of us have more than one charging source. Both alternator and solar is really common. Shore power and generators are also options.

Second, the standard for every gas engine PM ever made is a 180A alternator and a maintenance-free flooded (FLA) battery. Only diesels came with AGMs. The 220A alternator is an option, one that no one has proven to be advantageous in an RV conversion. I have one and I see the exact same 80A max going to the house bank as those that have the stock 180A alternator. It was a "why not" upgrade that I would not do again.

Why more than just a cut-off and fuse? Well, most "battery isolators" are just a cut-off of one type or another. Most are relays, Battery Doctor and Stinger, being common ones. And there are more expensive ones with some "smarts" that help manage the cut-off for you. There is also a new wave of units known as "battery-to-battery" (B2B) chargers. There are LOTS of options that all do the job. Do some research, check your pocketbook, and pick one.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3