Ram Promaster Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
2022 Promaster
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new 2022 Promaster that is the chassis for a new Roadtrek Travel Van. It has only 1200 miles on it. The head unit (nav, radio, etc) had been intermittently shutting down and then rebooting. Recently it happened several times within a few minutes. Then when I stooped and shut off the engine it wouldn’t start. It was completely dead as if the battery was disconnected. It was towed to my Promaster dealer and they told me they found the main engine ground wire had to be cleaned and reconnected to the transmission housing. Now, just 100 miles later, the head unit is shutting down and rebooting, loosing the nav destination route. Before it shut down the radio made a buzzing sound, similar to what you hear when there is a loose ground in an audio system. I made another appointment with my dealer, but he didn’t sound confident that he knew what the problem is. Any advice is appreciated.

· Registered
2021 1500 136"WB High top
1,873 Posts
People with way more knowledge on the subject will probably give you more helpful replies. But if it was my van, I'd contact Roadtrek. They installed a lot of components and know more about what's in your van than ram does at this point.

Also, maybe you need a new battery? My sister's BMW battery went bad, and she had all kinds of weird electrical issues that the service people had trouble diagnosing. They put a new battery in and it all went away.

I googled this quickly and it did mention batteries:
Common Roadtrek 190 Problems & Solutions

· Registered
182 Posts