Installing After market Radios - Page 8 - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 79 Old 06-16-2019, 11:50 AM
Wankel7
Senior Member
 
Wankel7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: S. GA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 56 Times in 37 Posts
I got interference on the display also. I ended up ditching the factor camera and installed two new ones. One in the factory location and one under the rear bumper.
Wankel7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 79 Old 06-16-2019, 12:44 PM
Scalawag
Member
 
Scalawag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankel7 View Post
I got interference on the display also. I ended up ditching the factor camera and installed two new ones. One in the factory location and one under the rear bumper.
The tech at Crutchfield sent me this wiring diagram and said if I could find the "camera shield" cable, I should just ground that separately. I have no idea if that is in the cards however. I suspect it would be easier to run a new camera altogether than try to find that cable in the wiring loom. (Correct me if I'm wrong.)

For running your new cameras, anything of note? Did you do anything special to prevent any interference? Any difficulties with the installation / wire routing? Thanks for the advice.

Prepping for 2019 full-time.
Scalawag is offline  
post #73 of 79 Old 06-16-2019, 01:06 PM
happycamper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: North of Chicago
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What is the under bumper camera for?
happycamper is offline  
post #74 of 79 Old 06-16-2019, 03:00 PM
Wankel7
Senior Member
 
Wankel7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: S. GA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 56 Times in 37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by happycamper View Post
What is the under bumper camera for?
I had an extra camera.... So I put it there. I use the top one more.

Yeah not sure where the factory video cable gets its shield. But it disappears into a look and from what I can tell stays that way until the back of the van.

I still get slight interference.
Wankel7 is offline  
post #75 of 79 Old 06-16-2019, 03:45 PM
happycamper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: North of Chicago
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks. I have had once camera under my Toyota FJ Cruiser to see what is happening under there whole driving. Lots of debris, and loose dirt. And hot knock down by flying stone.
happycamper is offline  
post #76 of 79 Old 06-16-2019, 07:48 PM
Scalawag
Member
 
Scalawag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankel7 View Post
Yeah not sure where the factory video cable gets its shield. But it disappears into a look and from what I can tell stays that way until the back of the van.

I still get slight interference.
If you still get slight interference then I might not mess with it. It's pretty mild and it may be one of those "leave well enough alone" things until someone else is the guinea pig in troubleshooting a solution. I know they sell devices specifically to clean up noise in back-up camera signals but they are aimed at aftermarket cameras where you have full access to the wiring.

Prepping for 2019 full-time.
Scalawag is offline  
post #77 of 79 Old 07-17-2019, 10:08 PM
marcksv
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am trying to figure out how to do my install (kenwood dmx7706s / maestro rr / ch3 harness)... First question that comes to mind; do I need to cut or splice in the factory harness? There's a bunch of wires coming out of the maestro rr that seems to need to be connected to some other wires and I have no idea how or where I should connect them... This is for the harness that connects right next to the red connector on the maestro rr... Any help appreciated! Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image_1563415767288.jpg (449.1 KB, 5 views)
marcksv is offline  
post #78 of 79 Old 07-18-2019, 07:49 AM Thread Starter
ThomD
Senior Member
 
ThomD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Thanks: 105
Thanked 172 Times in 129 Posts
(Thread Starter)
The maestro instructions should show everything in full color. There will be extra wires on the maestro that are not used. There may be extra wires on the kenwood that are not used (rear speakers for example).

2017 159" Gas High top with dual sliders.
Build Thread
ThomD is offline  
post #79 of 79 Old 07-18-2019, 08:24 AM
marcksv
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks! While plugging everything in yesterday, I finally understood just that! Those wires are already supplied by the vehicule harness!

On a sidenote though, in the instructions, they say to plug in the B connector which is for speaker front input and output. I have a small plug that I plugged in the Maestro but can't figure out what to plug to the other end... I will be running a 4channel amp for front and rear speakers and there are front and rear speaker on another harness so don't know what this plug is for? It's the white / black plug in the picture... Thanks again!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0598.jpg (329.3 KB, 6 views)
marcksv is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome