After market alarm without 2nd keyfob possible? - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-11-2019, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
HandyAndy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
After market alarm without 2nd keyfob possible?

Hi Everyone.

I am overdue at getting a theft alarm for my 2017 Promaster.

But my biggest hesitation is that I don’t want to add the bulk of another keyfob (to control the alarm) to my keychain.

Do you know if it is possible to reprogram the factory keyfob to control an aftermarket alarm? Below is a picture of my model of keyfob.

I believe the factory keyfob chip is required to start the car correct? So I can’t just remove and carry the key from the factory keyfob to reduce the bulk of carrying the now unneeded factory keyfob.

Any other ideas on how to have a theft alarm without adding another keyfob to my keychain?

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg keyfob.jpg (52.8 KB, 8 views)

2017 Standard Top 136" WB, Gas
HandyAndy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-13-2019, 12:07 AM
DewaltDisney
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Garage
I have a 2018 with a fob that looks *very* similar to yours. I've gotten two places to say that my fob can control a basic alarm. One is by Viper, the other, I can't recall the brand. They pretty much only go off when the doors are opened... the more sophisticated stuff didn't seem like it was available. $600-650 installed. Now all I need to do is find a day when I can be without my van to actually get the system in...
DewaltDisney is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-14-2019, 01:22 AM Thread Starter
HandyAndy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DewaltDisney View Post
I have a 2018 with a fob that looks *very* similar to yours. I've gotten two places to say that my fob can control a basic alarm. One is by Viper, the other, I can't recall the brand.
Thanks for the info.

Can you tell me what Viper model they say can do it.

I went to one of the largest alarm installers in my area and they could not find a model that can do it.

2017 Standard Top 136" WB, Gas
HandyAndy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 06-14-2019, 08:43 AM
proeddie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Connecticut PM159HI
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 694 Times in 530 Posts
If you get an aftermarket keyfob to control the alarm, you could get a PM key with the chip in it but without the keyfob. then just put that key on the chain with the new alarm keyfob.
A search should find something... other have added alarms.




.

Working on the van, and my website about it! Please visit www.empowersites.com/edsvan or here on the forum
proeddie is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-14-2019, 09:14 AM
DewaltDisney
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Garage
Hope this screenshot uploads...

And to emphasize, this was the quote where they didn't actually see me and my fob... all of this was just back and forth by phone and email. They did sound pretty confident, though.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg viper.jpg (44.1 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by DewaltDisney; 06-14-2019 at 09:16 AM.
DewaltDisney is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to DewaltDisney For This Useful Post:
HandyAndy (06-14-2019)
post #6 of 6 Old Yesterday, 02:01 PM
Uvan
Junior Member
 
Uvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
https://fortin.ca/en/vehicles/ram/pr...-standard-key/

I think Evo-one should work for your need. You can use the factory or their RF remote to control the alarm. Also like what the other poster said, you can get valet key(w/o remote) from the dealer. I will also call multiple dealer, when I called last week, the price of the valet key is about $100 everywhere but the programming fee range from free to $300. I also just receive two spare keys(w/o transponder) for when i go surfing from this UK ebay seller . I didn't have the key code but he was able to code match it using just a pic i sent to him and took about two week to get to California all for about $32. The key doesn't have a transponder so it only can start the van for about a second and it shut off. I was going to have it made locally but none of the locksmith in my area can made me a copy.

"there is no point in being embarrassed of all the stupid **** i done and will continue to do"

Last edited by Uvan; Yesterday at 02:06 PM.
Uvan is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome