Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) Light - Page 5 - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 49 Old 09-18-2018, 08:57 PM
airstream66
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Light instantly went off

I just went and added air to the spare for the first time and right away I could see that it was at most about 65 or maybe a tad under that and the sticker calls for 80 in the spare. I probably only added enough to get it up to 73 or 75 I'm guessing. I did check the other tires and they were all close to spec. So I have to assume that the spare was what was causing my light to be on. As soon as I started the van the light did not come on. It did not require any time or driving.
airstream66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 49 Old 02-14-2019, 05:38 PM
[email protected]
Senior Member
 
mcneill78@windstream.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 43 Times in 30 Posts
Garage
Smile

Had a crack in the last baffle on the exhaust and had it in to be fixed under warranty. Also asked to have TPMS adjusted to 55 psi all round. Went to pick up and service manager told me could not reset, it comes from the factory that way. REquested he have his master tech double check since this appears to be something many forum members have had adjusted. 30 minutes later TPMS was adjusted to 55 all round and the service manager asked and was granted a tour of the van.
[email protected] is offline  
post #43 of 49 Old 02-14-2019, 06:04 PM
Old Country Woodworks
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I have found that the light will come on on a very hot day or a very cold day. There seems to be a 5-10 pound window +-. It also takes maybe 100 KM for it to recalibrate itself. I switch to winter tires and rims in the winter so my TPMS only works in the spring summer fall.

I run 65 pounds year round.

If the spare has a unit in it is an interesting question.
Old Country Woodworks is offline  
post #44 of 49 Old 02-14-2019, 06:15 PM
phil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,709
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Thanks: 308
Thanked 478 Times in 393 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Country Woodworks View Post
...cut...If the spare has a unit in it is an interesting question.
Nobody has reported that the factory spare doesn't have one, that said, if I understand these sensor correctly they activate when a rotational force is applied, so only 4 are active.
phil is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to phil For This Useful Post:
Old Country Woodworks (02-14-2019)
post #45 of 49 Old 02-14-2019, 06:25 PM
SteveSS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Thanks: 223
Thanked 222 Times in 179 Posts
Garage
From the owner's manual
"The spare tire has a tire pressure monitoring sensor, but it is not monitored until it is mounted in place of any of the existing four road tires."

SteveSS
2017 3500 159 EXT gas, silver metallic. Shiny's build thread
SteveSS is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SteveSS For This Useful Post:
bahawton (05-21-2019), [email protected] (02-14-2019)
post #46 of 49 Old 05-22-2019, 09:07 PM
GuyT
Super Moderator
 
GuyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
Got tired of that tire pressure warning, asked the dealer to set it to the lowest pressure threshold available, since it can't be disabled. No more warnings.
GuyT is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to GuyT For This Useful Post:
MXHauler (05-23-2019)
post #47 of 49 Old 05-23-2019, 10:55 AM
bahawton
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Thanks: 168
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
This might be another option for people with dealers that are unwilling to change TPMS settings. I already have the OBDII adapter so it looks like it would only cost me $50 for the app plus it would allow me to change other settings (once my new van arrives).


https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...faOBD&hl=en_US

http://www.obdlink.com/mxp/
bahawton is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to bahawton For This Useful Post:
GuyT (05-24-2019)
post #48 of 49 Old 05-23-2019, 11:18 AM
tbuyan
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: The great Pacific Northwest
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
GuyT, did the dealer in Hood River adjust the TPMS for you?
tbuyan is online now  
post #49 of 49 Old 05-24-2019, 12:00 PM
GuyT
Super Moderator
 
GuyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbuyan View Post
GuyT, did the dealer in Hood River adjust the TPMS for you?

No, I had it done in Montreal, Boulevard Dodge Chrysler.
GuyT is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to GuyT For This Useful Post:
tbuyan (05-25-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome