Driver side door wiring diagram - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 12:49 AM Thread Starter
Uvan
Junior Member
 
Uvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Driver side door wiring diagram

I finally figure out why I'm get ambient temperature sensor error. It wasn't the sensor(I replaced it with new sensor) but somewheres in the door harness have a short. The temperature is correct when the door closed but half way through opening the door, the temp in the dash will drop out on the dash display.
Does anyone have the driver side wire diagram?
Uvan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 10:08 AM
GuyT
Super Moderator
 
GuyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uvan View Post
I finally figure out why I'm get ambient temperature sensor error. It wasn't the sensor(I replaced it with new sensor) but somewheres in the door harness have a short. The temperature is correct when the door closed but half way through opening the door, the temp in the dash will drop out on the dash display.
Does anyone have the driver side wire diagram?

It seams that the PM engineers have a problem coming up with wiring that can survive door motion. I had to change the wires at the backdoor hinges, for the license plate bulbs and the door lock. I didn't need the wire diagram, just replaced the faulty section, making sure I was matching both ends wire color.


The hard part in your case is accessing the wires, please keep us posted on how you did it, preferably with photos. I have a feeling I will soon have to redo the temperature sensor wiring in the driver door hinge.
GuyT is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 10:21 AM
SteveSS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Thanks: 222
Thanked 215 Times in 173 Posts
Garage
SteveSS is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to SteveSS For This Useful Post:
GuyT (05-14-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 11:48 AM
phil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,655
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Thanks: 281
Thanked 464 Times in 379 Posts
Here is the Ducato info, I have not verified the info but I bet it's the same.

https://www.promasterforum.com/forum...79&postcount=1

pg 111 is the sensor info
pg 101 is where the connector is located
phil is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to phil For This Useful Post:
Uvan (05-14-2019)
post #5 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
Uvan
Junior Member
 
Uvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Thanks everyone, i will update everyone on it.
Uvan is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 01:32 PM
GuyT
Super Moderator
 
GuyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
Uvan, I don't think you have to remove anything but the rubber accordion protector,the broken wires are more than likely in that area. I can already see wear on mine:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg promaster.jpg (61.1 KB, 6 views)
GuyT is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 04:38 PM Thread Starter
Uvan
Junior Member
 
Uvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Im hoping I can get to those plug shown on the diagram so i can rewire the AAT sensor to somewhere else. Does anyone know if the connector in the engine bay, inside the dash or somewhere else? can't tell based on that diagram. thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ft door connector.JPG (51.2 KB, 5 views)
Uvan is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 05:19 PM
phil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,655
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Thanks: 281
Thanked 464 Times in 379 Posts
I'm guessing it's just above the strut mount behind fuse panel.

Disassembly starts on pg 3

pg 16 show the top of the driver's strut.

https://redirect.viglink.com/?format...41050093205182

Last edited by phil; 05-14-2019 at 05:22 PM.
phil is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to phil For This Useful Post:
Uvan (05-14-2019)
post #9 of 10 Old 05-14-2019, 08:28 PM
GuyT
Super Moderator
 
GuyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil View Post
I'm guessing it's just above the strut mount behind fuse panel.

Disassembly starts on pg 3

pg 16 show the top of the driver's strut.

A wild guess too: the wrapped wires on the gray connector on page 5 looks about the same size as the one that goes into the driver's door.
GuyT is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-15-2019, 02:50 AM Thread Starter
Uvan
Junior Member
 
Uvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyT View Post
Uvan, I don't think you have to remove anything but the rubber accordion protector,the broken wires are more than likely in that area. I can already see wear on mine:
You are right, I took the door panel off today and try to isolate where the wire issue. I bent/pull the wire loom and isolated at the rubber accordion like what you said. Its kind of hard to open up the wire loom so I'm going to try splice the connection from the connector inside the dash/firewall. After I put the door panel back, the AAT wire seems to be working better with no issue when opening the door. But I think this is just temporary.

I open up the driver side dash area as instructed above this morning. Saw the connector as shown in the diagram but there is no way I can do or see anything with the tiny amount of space. So if I really want to fix it, the "easiest" way is probably unplugging it from the door side. There is some sort of crash sensor in the middle of the door and the door harness is plug into it too. I'm scare i might F something up when i unplug it.

"there is no point in being embarrassed of all the stupid **** i done and will continue to do"

Last edited by Uvan; 05-15-2019 at 01:51 PM.
Uvan is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome