LED Exterior Flood light - Ideas? - Page 3 - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 27 Old 03-22-2017, 10:41 AM
PopeAng
Senior Member
 
PopeAng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: northern Virginia; ND in Summer
Posts: 119
Thanks: 119
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PopeAng View Post

The Rigid Ignite looks awesome too...
I'll just ordered one from Amazon Deals. I really like that this one is so versatile - the GoPro compatible feature is great.

Welp... So I did order this, but didn't pay attention to the address I was shipping it to. It's going overseas to an old address on a military base that doesn't even exist anymore. I don't think I'll ever see that one, or it will be a few months before the USPS figures it out and sends it back to the company.

I'll go ahead and order another in the mean time. I was hoping to get the deal off Amazon warehouse deals.
PopeAng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 27 Old 04-19-2017, 06:40 PM
El Guapo
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 79
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
When you guys wired your exterior LED lights did you have a relay? A lot of the wiring harnesses has a relay involved. Mine are currently wired straight from a fused Blue Sea fuse block.
El Guapo is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 04-19-2017, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Puddletown
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Oregon
Posts: 37
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Guapo View Post
When you guys wired your exterior LED lights did you have a relay? A lot of the wiring harnesses has a relay involved. Mine are currently wired straight from a fused Blue Sea fuse block.
In my case I tapped in to the Upfit connection to control the lights from the factory AUX switches. I used AUX 1 as it is battery fed not ignition fed. I did not add any additional relay. I grounded the lights to a ground behind the 12v power supply at the back of the van. The wiring that came with the light was simple a red and black wire.
Puddletown is offline  
 
post #24 of 27 Old 04-20-2017, 12:41 AM
El Guapo
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 79
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
I did some reading on relays and switches and it seems that I don't need any kind of a relay. Max amp draw of my two lights total 1.5A. My switch it good for 15A.
El Guapo is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 04-22-2017, 05:15 PM
El Guapo
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 79
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Puddletown, I got my Rigid scene lights in today and was mounting them when I discovered how much of a curve that area has, preventing them from being perfectly flat. Did your 1/8" rubber gasket squish enough to help seal the gap at the top or did you rely mostly on silicone?
El Guapo is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 04-22-2017, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
Puddletown
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Oregon
Posts: 37
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Guapo View Post
Puddletown, I got my Rigid scene lights in today and was mounting them when I discovered how much of a curve that area has, preventing them from being perfectly flat. Did your 1/8" rubber gasket squish enough to help seal the gap at the top or did you rely mostly on silicone?
I was able to get a flush fit with the rubber gasket. The silicone was extra insurance for me.

Here is the gasket material I used: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00L8NSXNY

2017 PM 136 3.6l LR Granite Grey PopTop
Puddletown is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Puddletown For This Useful Post:
PopeAng (04-24-2017)
post #27 of 27 Old 04-22-2017, 06:43 PM
El Guapo
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 79
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
I wound up cutting some scrap pieces of 3/16" rubber flooring I had and used a bench top sander to put a slight concave curve on the van side of it to match the van curve. Then a film of silicone to make sure it's sealed. I wish the wires on the lights were a tad longer.

Last edited by El Guapo; 04-22-2017 at 08:40 PM.
El Guapo is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome