Interior lights in the cargo area - Page 4 - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 07-22-2014, 05:19 AM
keeponvaning
Super Moderator
 
keeponvaning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New England
Posts: 2,514
Thanks: 72
Thanked 305 Times in 243 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
PJ3P If they run on 3 AAA batteries that is only 4.5 volts did you just connect them up to 12v and they work or did you use a resistor and if so what size? IKEA has a few of LED lights that run off of 12v and they are cheap!

Last edited by keeponvaning; 07-22-2014 at 05:22 AM.
keeponvaning is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 09-09-2014, 02:15 AM
davejunkyard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The two cargo lights do have 3 positions. One is off, one is for 5 minutes, the other is for 16 minutes. I just timed them yesterday. After 16 minutes, the lense gets hot, so it's a good idea to have them on a timer.
davejunkyard is offline  
post #33 of 40 Old 06-02-2015, 04:50 PM
gerrym51
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Is there a way to shut off these lights in the cargo area and leave cargo side door or rear door open?
gerrym51 is offline  
 
post #34 of 40 Old 06-02-2015, 05:14 PM
makevx73
Senior Member
 
makevx73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 597
Thanks: 28
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerrym51 View Post
Is there a way to shut off these lights in the cargo area and leave cargo side door or rear door open?
Do you mean the lights that came with your PM?

If so posts 1 & 6 are your answer.

Gas/June 2014 Build/118" WB/Low Roof/Light Loads/Daily Driver
makevx73 is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 06-04-2015, 04:57 AM
ha3Dy_j1s
Senior Member
 
ha3Dy_j1s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: KC or DFW ... really not sure.
Posts: 154
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Garage
a little wire, a little solder ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by keeponvaning View Post
PJ3P If they run on 3 AAA batteries that is only 4.5 volts did you just connect them up to 12v and they work or did you use a resistor and if so what size? IKEA has a few of LED lights that run off of 12v and they are cheap!
If you really want to do it on the cheap, Dollar Tree has inexpensive versions of these puck lights for a buck each. Can't remember if they use three batteries or two. If they use three batteries you can wire three lights in series and run off the 12V. If they use two batteries, wire four in series. You might want to short/defeat the push switch. Twelve lights would probably provide a fair amount of light for the back ... and the buck. Each light has three LEDs.
ha3Dy_j1s is offline  
post #36 of 40 Old 06-04-2015, 07:00 AM
RDinNHandAZ
Senior Member
 
RDinNHandAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Summer in Lakes Region of NH and Winter in the Sonoran Desert of AZ
Posts: 3,172
Thanks: 364
Thanked 624 Times in 505 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 677 Post(s)
Garage
Or how about strip lighting along the ceiling or indirect lighting?
See:
Amazon Amazon
and you can have a remote controlled switch too:
Amazon Amazon
These can be cut to any length (within reason) and dimmed! They come in colors too! They are 12 volt already and have an adhesive back plus can be switched normally. For this sort of change why fool with the dollar store?

2015 136" HT Diesel Sandstone Metallic Born on 6/12/2015 Campervan build see: http://www.promasterforum.com/forum/...ad.php?t=37177
Have Leatherman, Will Travel
RDinNHandAZ is online now  
post #37 of 40 Old 06-04-2015, 04:01 PM
ha3Dy_j1s
Senior Member
 
ha3Dy_j1s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: KC or DFW ... really not sure.
Posts: 154
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Garage
Yes, very reasonable prices. Agreed. I plan on using LED strips hidden along tops of walls, bouncing light off curved ceiling panels like cove lighting. The dimmers are inexpensive too. They regulate brightness by pulse width, so I'd think they're effecient/energy saving.

And since my profile does say "hippie van", maybe I'll throw in some blacklight LEDs as well. Groovy, man!

2015 high-roof 1500 gasser, nicely optioned ... w/ leather wheel & one-too-many seats

Last edited by ha3Dy_j1s; 06-04-2015 at 04:13 PM.
ha3Dy_j1s is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 01-09-2016, 11:52 AM
ACRGLASS
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 58
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
After a lot of LED research on the bulb replacements for the OEM rear dome lights, we installed two of KC Highlites #1350 CLEAR Cyclone LED Accessory Lights, and tied them into the OEM dome light circuit @ the passenger side dome light by the cargo door. We also did change the rear OEM bulb to an LED card, but I don't recall the specs. We left the OEM bulb in the passenger side dome light, because it does little besides light the top shelf in our shelving unit now any way.

What we have is dome lights that function on the OEM timers, a lot of extra light that's working out well, and the only issue was I had to "insulate" mount the KC lights from a grounded mount. Apparently Fiat/Ram grounds the circuit to complete it to switch the lights on. It wasn't terribly difficult, we have many plastic "poke in" fasteners and double face tape pads that worked very nicely for the task.

I've attached a late afternoon pic with the lights on so there's very little light bleeding in from behind the camera.

Again, thanks to all that post for your ideas and suggestions also.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20160102_162713.jpg (86.0 KB, 77 views)
ACRGLASS is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 01-21-2016, 02:16 PM
Wildbill3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
has anyone figured out were the fuse is for the lights in the back inside I didnt want to pull them all, looks like i will.
Wildbill3 is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 01-31-2016, 10:20 PM
mberk4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
I clicked on the picture, it enlarged it
mberk4 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome