Antenna - Page 2 - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 Old 12-26-2014, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
ken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Ed,
Thanks for all the help! I hope to get to the auto store today.


ken
ken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 Old 12-26-2014, 04:13 PM
Dwight
Senior Member
 
Dwight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 690
Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
I cut mine in half with tin snips. I just didn't care

It's a solid fiberglass mast coated with plastic. Didn't see any sign of a wire inside.

I switched my radio over from SiriusXM to FM. It works on FM.

No idea if it hurt the number of stations you'd get for free.

I figure if you're not using the stock one, might as well try cutting it.
Dwight is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 12-26-2014, 07:13 PM
proeddie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Connecticut PM159HI
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 17
Thanked 230 Times in 173 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Dwight,

Devil made you do it?

If you peel the plastic/rubber cover off the piece you HACKED off, you should find a wire wrapped around the fiberglass shaft. It's there because (and you can quote me), "fiberglass don't pick up no radio stations, metal do!"

A FM antenna should be around 31" long. To make a shorter antenna, they wrap about 31" of wire around a fiberglass (flexible) rod... voila!

Enjoy whatever stations you do get!
Ed
proeddie is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to proeddie For This Useful Post:
Harberneiley (02-23-2016), Quest4Adv (02-23-2016)
post #14 of 17 Old 02-21-2016, 06:17 PM
mberk4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
interior lights do not have a master switch, but any of the light switches I can think of have a off mode, they all operate by rocking them, even the rear door. That's my guess. and they do time out remember.
mberk4 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 02-22-2016, 07:10 AM
Samuel Palmer
Junior Member
 
Samuel Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I used a hook and 3M indoor outdoor tape to bend the antenna to fit in my garage. I replaced the original adhesive with the 3M tape. It has been thete since last June 2015, no issues.

Amazon Amazon
Samuel Palmer is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 02-23-2016, 01:32 AM
jetmelt
Senior Member
 
jetmelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Virginia Beach area
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Garage
Question antenna bad connection

speaking of antenna I have found that my antenna wire has a bad connection above the headliner. I have to fist bump it sometimes. does anyone have a picture of what it looks like up there or the simplest way to get at it?

2014 gasoline RAM Promaster van 136 high roof
jetmelt is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 01-10-2017, 09:37 AM
KeepMeMoving
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: MA
Posts: 90
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
I am looking to replace my antenna with a shorter one. The factory antenna is about 21" long. I found this one on ebay that is 6 3/4" long. Has anyone tried this one or something similar?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SHORT-6-3-4-...VYLH61&vxp=mtr

2016 PM 136 Low Roof Gas Engine
KeepMeMoving is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome