Odometer Blinking - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 01-11-2017, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
LynyrdSkynyrd
Junior Member
 
LynyrdSkynyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: East Bay CA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Odometer Blinking

Hey I thought I would throw this one out there, just bought PM 2017 159 WB High Roof. I love the space. But the radio volume on the steering broke as soon as I left the lot, so brought it back and they put in the complete new unit. I go to back up and the rear park assist is not working, so they tell me the two are not related and start a new work order, the fix for this was to disconnect the battery under the seat, and this will do a hard reset. OK so this works and the park assist functions normally.
Now the odometer blinks constantly and the service dept said they did not know how to fix this and the van would need to be left with them so they could get someone from dodge to help them trouble shoot.I had to leave so I went back to home.
I tried to do another reset, took the neg off the battery and let sit for about a 1/2 hour. But that is not the fix.

Anyone out there have the blinking odometer?
I will bring it back to the service dept, but I hate little crap like this. I am always amused at what these techs know and dont know.
I googled this and I see I am not alone, but I have not found any real solution to this.
LynyrdSkynyrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 01-11-2017, 10:53 AM
MsNomer
Senior Member
 
MsNomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 1,638
Thanks: 17
Thanked 375 Times in 288 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Interesting. My blinking odometer was fixed by the reset.
MsNomer is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 01-11-2017, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
LynyrdSkynyrd
Junior Member
 
LynyrdSkynyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: East Bay CA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
How long did you leave your battery disconnected?
LynyrdSkynyrd is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 Old 01-11-2017, 11:25 AM
RDinNHandAZ
Senior Member
 
RDinNHandAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Summer in Lakes Region of NH and Winter in the Sonoran Desert of AZ
Posts: 3,267
Thanks: 369
Thanked 652 Times in 525 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Garage
When the battery is disconnected press the brake or some other thing that will drain any residual capacitor to be sure the computers are reset. Easy to try and recommended by others. 30 minutes should have done it.

2015 136" HT Diesel Sandstone Metallic Born on 6/12/2015 Campervan build see: http://www.promasterforum.com/forum/...ad.php?t=37177
Have Leatherman, Will Travel
RDinNHandAZ is online now  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-11-2017, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
LynyrdSkynyrd
Junior Member
 
LynyrdSkynyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: East Bay CA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
OK, I will try this today.
LynyrdSkynyrd is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-11-2017, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
LynyrdSkynyrd
Junior Member
 
LynyrdSkynyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: East Bay CA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Tried that. Same result, blinking. Thanks for the input.
LynyrdSkynyrd is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-12-2017, 07:19 AM
thebassoutlaw
Member
 
thebassoutlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Mine was blinking...it was some module that was bad behind the ac controls... none of the controls were working when mine started blinking...they replaced it under warranty.
thebassoutlaw is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-12-2017, 07:33 AM
JDM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Mine did that same thing after taking her back to the dealer for a radio swap. When I picked her up, the odometer light was flashing so I turned right around and returned to the service mgr. Turns out the mechanic that did the work didn't exit the computer system correctly! Have em check that...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
JDM is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-12-2017, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
LynyrdSkynyrd
Junior Member
 
LynyrdSkynyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: East Bay CA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Thanks, I am bringing her back in. I do not have much faith in the service guys. I will post the results.
They say I have to leave it with them for a few days.
LynyrdSkynyrd is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-12-2017, 09:04 AM
RDinNHandAZ
Senior Member
 
RDinNHandAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Summer in Lakes Region of NH and Winter in the Sonoran Desert of AZ
Posts: 3,267
Thanks: 369
Thanked 652 Times in 525 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Garage
A few days? Thats the time it takes to change an engine not to hook the computer up and check out the blinking dash. I think I’d tell them to call Star and get a plan and call me back when it was going to be an hour service appt. Best of luck on this.

2015 136" HT Diesel Sandstone Metallic Born on 6/12/2015 Campervan build see: http://www.promasterforum.com/forum/...ad.php?t=37177
Have Leatherman, Will Travel
RDinNHandAZ is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to RDinNHandAZ For This Useful Post:
JDM (01-12-2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome