Heater/AC prep package - Ordering any day - do I want this? - Ram Promaster Forum
User Tag List

post #1 of 12 Old 01-10-2017, 07:14 AM Thread Starter
dobermin

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Heater/AC prep package - Ordering any day - do I want this?

I have my final Promaster options selected and am wondering if I need the heater/AC prep package option?

I will be converting this 3500 159" ext into a full functional off - grid camper van as well as daily driver.

My initial plans involve installing a standard house window AC unit and will be using a propane furnace from Coleman popup camper.

What do I get with this prep package and can I remove it from the config, or does anyone see some value in getting it now?

Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-10-2017, 07:39 AM
keeponvaning
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
You should be asking "Should I use a house window AC and used propane furnace in my new van?"

The answer to all your questions (IMHO) is NO!

2014, High Top/159 WB, 2500 gas Promaster fully converted for camping.
post #3 of 12 Old 01-10-2017, 09:19 AM
RDinNHandAZ

Location: Summer in Lakes Region of NH and Winter in the Sonoran Desert of AZ
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 677 Post(s)
Garage
No.

2015 136" HT Diesel Sandstone Metallic Born on 6/12/2015 Campervan build see: http://www.promasterforum.com/forum/...ad.php?t=37177
Have Leatherman, Will Travel

post #4 of 12 Old 01-10-2017, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
dobermin

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Thank you, three "no's".

No on the Rear A/C Heat prep.

The other two "no's":

House window AC unit -- seemed like a great idea... already have nice Yamaha 2000 watt inverter generator. The AC units are very inexpensive vs the roof top plus no cutting roof. I learned of the idea on this form and thought it was a terrific start -- I already have the AC unit as well.